Reflective learning

                               Reflections of learning in a pandemic time

Writing longhand:  Has been an experience, it has made me think and put things together on paper.  Having to use a timeline of events.  Putting your thoughts on paper.  Having to focus on writing without spell check or grammar check readily available.

Planning, drafting, and revising your literacy narrative.

I wrote a literacy narrative about my son learning to read, I have never written a paper like this before, so it was a real learning experience for me.  I liked that it challenged me to write and work hard to put into words things that have happened in my life.  I really like the fact that I wrote long hand.  Dr Lucas looked over our work and gave us suggestions on what was missing and what we might add or take away.

I took a course the fall of 2020.  It was an English class writing and inquiring. I have been out of school for thirty-four years now, the course was especially challenging for me.  I made many mistakes and missed a few assignments.  Did I mention this all happened during a pandemic?  COVID was its names. 

So, most of the learning was online.  We could meet one day a week for fifty minutes.  It is amazing how much we got through/or did not get through in that fifty minutes.

I wrote a literacy narrative about my son learning to read.  I had to write A long hand draft, which was looked over by out teacher and returned with green markings, for GTCC.  This was to help us see what was missing, what would sound better, or should I say read better?  I had to put my thoughts into words, so that someone may read it or find it interesting to read.  We also drafted many things in class to get an insight for Dr. Lucas on what we could change or add/remove to make it better.  This class was something all new to me, planning, drafting, and revising were things I had never done.  I liked that we wrote longhand.  I feel like it helped me to really think about things, to have to work hard to put into words.

Making an opening paragraph’s, and body paragraphs with concrete details, and making a conclusion.   I learned about a secondary source, which I struggled with the most.  This class was English 111 writing and inquiry.  

When you do not know how to put a story together?  I learned that there are resources to help put your writing into a proper order according to a writer’s reference on page 46.  It tells you that a paragraph narration tells a story or part of a story.   I posted literacy narrative in a blog post on August 24th,2020   about on-line learning, which helped me accept the struggle of online learning was a real struggle for me.

Through the past several months online learning has been a definite struggle for me, however with the help of a great teacher Dr Lucas, and the resources she gave us, helped me get through this class.  I have totally bombed in a lot of areas; however, I have learned a lot.  Learned a lot of strategies to writing and blogging. So writing is something we all should try, take a class, or start a blog post where someone may really enjoy your writing while helping you share your story.

Published by astreetthing

Hello. My name is Patricia R Street. I am married with 3 boys and 3 grandchildren. I am 5 Decades old and have started back to school to finish my Early Childhood Degree.

One thought on “Reflective learning

  1. Patricia, “Reflections of Learning in a Pandemic Time” presents a thoughtful meditation on composing your literacy narrative, writing longhand, maintaining a blog, and how those practices have contributed to your growth as a writer. Refining the thesis and the organization of your reflection, integrating an additional source, and correcting errors of punctuation and style would strengthen the essay. I hope that you will maintain your blog after the semester’s end and continue to seek opportunities for writing outside of the classroom. I wish you the best with your future endeavors.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started